If you type “how much does a humanoid robot cost” into Google right now, you’ll get answers ranging from $6,000 to $250,000. Both numbers are real. Neither one is “the price of a humanoid robot,” because there isn’t one — this is closer to asking “how much does a vehicle cost” than “how much does an iPhone cost.”
By late 2026, humanoid robots have split into distinct product categories: cheap bipedal platforms built for university labs and robotics students, mid-tier robots being piloted on factory floors, and a handful of home-focused robots taking pre-orders with delivery dates that keep slipping. Each category has its own pricing logic, and mixing them together is how most “robot price” articles end up misleading.
This guide breaks the market down by what’s actually confirmed, what’s an official target, and what’s still a guess — and explains why the gap between those categories matters more than any single number.
How Much Does a Humanoid Robot Cost in 2026? The Short Answer
As of September 2026, you can buy a working, shippable humanoid robot for as little as $6,000, and enterprise-grade platforms with full service contracts run past $250,000 including support and integration. Most robots people actually talk about — Unitree’s G1, Tesla’s Optimus, 1X’s NEO — cluster in the $16,000 to $30,000 range, but that number means different things for each one.
Unitree’s G1 is a real, in-stock product you can order today starting around $16,000. Tesla’s $20,000–$30,000 figure for Optimus is a company target for a robot that isn’t yet sold to outside customers. 1X’s $20,000 NEO is taking pre-orders for home delivery but still leans on remote human operators for tasks it can’t handle on its own. Treating all three as the same kind of “$20K robot” hides the part that actually matters: whether you can buy the thing, and what it can do once it arrives.
If your business is evaluating an industrial-grade humanoid with service and integration included, realistic all-in costs run from roughly $90,000 to $250,000+, or a per-hour rental model priced against the cost of a human worker.

Humanoid Robot Prices in 2026: Quick Comparison
| Humanoid Robot | Company | Approx. Price | Price Status | Intended Use |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Booster K1 | Booster Robotics | ~$6,000 | Confirmed | Education / R&D |
| Unitree G1 | Unitree | $16,000–$21,500 (up to ~$74,000 for advanced configs) | Confirmed, shipping | Research, education, development |
| Unitree H1 / H1-2 | Unitree | ~$90,000–$129,000 | Confirmed, shipping | High-mobility research |
| Unitree H2 | Unitree | Under ~$41,000 (US dealer pricing) | Reported | Industrial pilots |
| Tesla Optimus (Gen 3) | Tesla | $20,000–$30,000 (target) | Announced target, not yet sold to outside buyers | Factory work now; consumer/industrial later |
| 1X NEO | 1X Technologies | $20,000 outright or $499/month | Confirmed price, pre-order stage | Home assistance |
| Figure 03 | Figure AI | Not publicly disclosed (billed ~$25/robot-hour in pilots) | Not disclosed | Industrial / logistics pilots |
| Agility Robotics Digit | Agility Robotics | ~$150,000–$250,000 purchase, or ~$30/hour RaaS | Confirmed (RaaS), estimated (purchase) | Warehouse and logistics |
| Apptronik Apollo | Apptronik | Not publicly disclosed | Not disclosed | Industrial / logistics pilots |
| Boston Dynamics Atlas | Boston Dynamics (Hyundai) | Not publicly disclosed; not for general sale | Not disclosed | Enterprise pilots, R&D |
Where a company hasn’t published a number, this table says so rather than filling in a guess. A few of these figures — the Optimus target price especially — are goals a company has stated publicly, not a price you can currently pay to take one home.
How Much Do the Most Popular Humanoid Robots Cost?
Tesla Optimus
Tesla’s official target for Optimus is $20,000 to $30,000. Tesla says it began mass production of the Gen 3 version at its Fremont factory in early 2026, aiming for 100,000 to 300,000 units this year, and the company has gone so far as to wind down Model S and X production to redirect factory capacity toward the robot program.
Here’s the part that matters for a buyer: this price is not a checkout button. Tesla has missed every previous Optimus production target since 2021, including a 2023 production-readiness goal and a 2025 target of 5,000 units, and third-party customers aren’t expected to be able to actually purchase one until 2027. Treat the $20,000–$30,000 figure as an announced target, not a confirmed retail price — it’s a number Tesla has publicly committed to, but not one you can currently pay.
Unitree G1
The G1 is the robot that broke the assumption that humanoids have to cost six figures. Pricing runs from roughly $16,000 up to about $74,000 across twelve configurations, and units are shipping now. Other reporting lists the entry price closer to $19,300 for the full-size research configuration, so exact figures shift by configuration and vendor markup — but this is a real, orderable product, not a prototype with a projected price. At 127–132 cm tall, though, it’s notably shorter than a human adult, which limits it to research, education, and development work rather than tasks that need human-scale reach.
Unitree H1 / H1-2 / H2
Unitree’s larger, human-height line costs substantially more than the G1. The H1 runs around $90,000 for the full-size, high-mobility research version, with H1-2 configurations reported as high as $129,000. A newer H2 variant has reportedly cleared U.S. dealer channels for under $41,000, suggesting Unitree is pushing its human-scale line toward lower price points too, though that figure comes from industry reporting rather than an official Unitree price sheet.
Figure
Figure AI has not published a retail price for its Figure 03 robot. The company is valued at roughly $39 billion, and its robots are working in commercial pilots — including a fleet operating inside BMW’s Spartanburg plant — but Figure bills those deployments by the hour rather than selling units outright, with pilot billing reported around $25 per robot-operating-hour. There is no confirmed purchase price for a Figure robot as of this writing; anything you see quoted as a hard dollar figure for “a Figure robot” is an estimate, not a company statement.
1X NEO
1X’s NEO is the clearest example of a robot actually reaching a home-consumer price. The company has confirmed pricing of $20,000 outright or $499 per month as a subscription, with over 10,000 pre-orders placed against a $200 refundable deposit and first U.S. deliveries expected by late 2026. NEO uses tendon-driven actuators rather than rigid servo motors, which is part of why 1X markets it as safe to operate around children and pets.
The important caveat, which 1X itself acknowledges: NEO is not fully autonomous at launch. When it can’t handle a task on its own, a remote human operator can step in, and each supervised session becomes training data intended to improve future autonomy. That’s a meaningfully different product than a robot that independently handles chores — it’s closer to a robot with a human safety net, still being trained in your living room.
Agility Robotics Digit
Digit is sold almost entirely as a service rather than a product. Agility’s dominant model is Robots-as-a-Service, billing customers roughly $30 per hour of robot operation, a figure benchmarked against the fully loaded cost of a US warehouse worker, with Agility retaining ownership of the hardware and handling maintenance and software updates. For companies that want to buy rather than rent, direct purchase is estimated at roughly $150,000 for a base unit up to about $250,000 all-in with integration support — though this purchase figure comes from industry analysis rather than a published Agility price list, since the company steers customers toward the subscription model.
Apptronik Apollo
Apollo has completed multiple funding rounds — most recently a raise that pushed Apptronik’s valuation to roughly $5.5 billion — and is running paid industrial pilots with Mercedes-Benz, GXO Logistics, and Jabil. Apptronik has not publicly confirmed a retail price for Apollo. Given its positioning against Digit and Figure 03 in industrial logistics, a comparable price range is plausible, but no official number exists, so any specific figure you encounter for Apollo should be treated as speculation.
Boston Dynamics Atlas
The electric Atlas platform, developed with backing from Hyundai, remains in enterprise pilot testing and is not available for general purchase. Boston Dynamics has not published pricing, and given the platform’s research pedigree and hydraulic-to-electric transition, there’s no credible public estimate worth repeating here. The company has not publicly confirmed a retail price.
Why Are Humanoid Robots So Expensive?
A humanoid robot’s price tag isn’t one number — it’s a stack of separately expensive systems that all have to work together.
Hardware. Dozens of actuators (motors that drive each joint) have to be precise enough for fine manipulation and strong enough for lifting, which pushes toward custom, low-volume components rather than off-the-shelf parts.
Sensors. Cameras, depth sensors, force-torque sensors in the wrists and feet, and sometimes LiDAR all feed the robot’s understanding of its surroundings. More sensing capability generally means more cost and more data to process in real time.
Hands and dexterity. Human-like grasping — picking up a screw, a box, or a cup without crushing it — requires far more engineering than a simple gripper claw, and dexterous hands are one of the most expensive subsystems on any humanoid platform.
Batteries and power. Humanoids need enough battery capacity to run for a useful shift without becoming too heavy to walk, which is a genuine engineering trade-off, not a solved problem.
Computing and AI. Onboard processors have to run perception and control models in real time, and the AI models themselves require enormous amounts of training data and compute to develop — a cost that shows up in the robot’s price even though it’s invisible in the bill of materials.
Manufacturing scale. This is the single biggest lever on price. Bank of America’s 2026 analysis put a Western-built humanoid pilot unit at roughly $90,000 to $100,000, while Chinese-manufactured units carry a bill-of-materials closer to $35,000 — a gap driven almost entirely by supply chain maturity and production volume rather than the robots being fundamentally different machines. Unitree’s price advantage over Western competitors comes largely from Chinese manufacturing scale and component sourcing, not a lower-spec robot.
R&D amortization. Early units from any company have to absorb years of prior research spending. As production volume rises, that fixed cost spreads across more robots and per-unit price should fall — which is the whole premise behind Tesla’s $20,000 target.
What Is the Cheapest Humanoid Robot You Can Buy?
Entry-level, education-focused humanoids start around $6,000 — Booster Robotics’ K1 is one example, aimed at robotics curriculum and embodied-AI research rather than real-world tasks. The Unitree G1 is the cheapest full-size, general-purpose humanoid you can actually order today, starting around $16,000.
These lower-cost robots are genuinely useful for what they’re built for: teaching robotics, developing and testing AI control software, and research. They are not a substitute for a $90,000+ industrial platform. A cheap humanoid typically has a shorter runtime, a lower payload limit, and less refined manipulation than an expensive one — the price difference reflects real capability differences, not just brand markup. Don’t assume the cheapest robot is the best value; it depends entirely on what job you need it to do.
How Much Does a Humanoid Robot Cost for a Business?
Businesses evaluating humanoid robots — in warehouses, manufacturing, logistics, or retail — are increasingly choosing between two purchase models:
- Direct purchase, where you own the hardware outright, typically ranging from around $16,000 for research-grade platforms to $250,000+ for fully integrated industrial units.
- Robots-as-a-Service (RaaS), where you pay per hour of operation — Agility’s Digit is priced at roughly $30 per hour, deliberately benchmarked against the fully loaded cost of a human warehouse worker, with the vendor retaining ownership and handling maintenance.
The RaaS model matters because it reframes the buying decision. Instead of asking “can I afford a $150,000 robot,” a business asks “is $30 an hour cheaper than what I’m paying a worker for this task, once you include benefits, turnover, and training.” That’s a fundamentally different calculation, and it’s why Agility and Figure both lean toward hourly billing for their industrial pilots rather than a one-time sale.
Total cost of ownership for a purchased robot also includes maintenance, replacement parts, software subscriptions for fleet management, integration work to fit the robot into an existing workflow, and — in many current deployments — some amount of human oversight. None of these are guaranteed to exist for every robot or every deployment, but where a vendor has published specific numbers (like Agility’s per-hour rate), it’s worth using those over guesswork.
How Much Would a Humanoid Robot Cost for Home Use?
For most people, “a robot for my house” is not yet a purchase you can make and expect full autonomy from. 1X’s NEO, at $20,000 or $499/month, is the clearest real example of home-focused pricing — and it’s explicitly not fully autonomous, relying on remote human supervision for tasks it can’t handle alone.
That caveat is the whole story of home humanoid robots in 2026. Safety and reliability standards for a robot working unsupervised around children, pets, stairs, and kitchen appliances are much higher than for a robot on a factory floor with trained operators and a controlled environment. No company has published evidence that a home humanoid robot can currently perform the full range of household tasks — cooking, laundry, childcare-adjacent supervision — reliably and without human backup. Consumer pricing exists for NEO, but the product behind that price is still, in meaningful ways, a robot-plus-remote-human-operator system rather than a finished autonomous appliance.
Buying a Humanoid Robot vs. Hiring Human Labor
This comparison gets oversimplified constantly, usually by dividing a robot’s purchase price by a worker’s annual salary. That’s not a real comparison, because it ignores utilization, downtime, and everything a robot needs around it to actually work.
The more honest metric is cost per hour of useful work, not purchase price. A $50,000 robot that runs 16 hours a day, 300 days a year, with minimal downtime, produces a very different hourly cost than the same robot running 4 hours a day with frequent maintenance stops. That’s exactly why Agility prices Digit against a benchmark of the fully loaded cost of a human warehouse worker in the US, rather than against a flat hourly wage — “fully loaded” includes benefits, training, turnover, and supervision costs that a simple wage comparison misses.
Other variables that change the math: how many years the robot lasts before it needs major part replacement, how much electricity it draws, whether it needs a human supervisor nearby (which erodes the labor savings), and how much software and cloud service fees add to the monthly bill. A UBTech deployment on Chinese auto assembly lines — over 800 million yuan, roughly $112 million, in booked orders — suggests that at least some large manufacturers have run this math and found it favorable for specific repetitive tasks. That doesn’t mean the math works out the same way for every job or every business.
What Does It Cost to Maintain a Humanoid Robot?
Published maintenance figures are limited, but the available industry analysis gives a useful range. Agility Robotics’ own operating cost is reported at roughly $10 to $12 per hour at current production economics, with a company target of $2 to $3 per hour once manufacturing reaches scale — a gap that shows how much of today’s cost is tied to low production volume rather than the robot’s design. For a purchased robot, expect ongoing costs from software subscriptions (fleet management platforms), replacement of wear parts like actuators and hands, and — depending on the deployment — a level of human oversight that isn’t yet zero for any commercially deployed humanoid.
Will Humanoid Robots Become Cheaper?
Most of the economic forces point toward lower prices over time, and there’s already measurable evidence of it happening. Goldman Sachs data cited in Deloitte’s 2026 Tech Trends report found manufacturing costs for humanoid robots dropped 40% between 2023 and 2024, with unit costs projected to fall below $17,000 by 2030. That’s a projection, not a guarantee, but it’s grounded in an actual measured cost trend rather than a marketing promise.
The mechanisms behind falling prices are the same ones that drove down costs for smartphones, EVs, and industrial robots before them: mass production spreading fixed costs across more units, standardized components replacing custom ones, cheaper sensors and batteries, and improved AI hardware that needs less brute-force compute to do the same job. Unitree’s aggressive Chinese-manufactured pricing is arguably the market already demonstrating this — its components are cheaper and its supply chain is tighter than Western competitors’, and that gap alone accounts for a large part of the price difference in the comparison table above.
Working against lower prices: ongoing R&D spending that has to be recouped, the cost of high-end components that don’t have volume-driven price curves yet, safety certification requirements (especially for anything sold for home use), and the fact that several companies are still producing at volumes too low to unlock real manufacturing economies of scale.
How Much Could Humanoid Robots Cost by 2030?
The most concrete public figure available is the Deloitte/Goldman Sachs projection of unit costs falling below $17,000 by 2030. Treat that as a credible industry forecast, not a locked-in price — forecasts like this assume production volumes and cost curves play out roughly as expected, and the humanoid robot industry has a recent track record of missed timelines (Tesla’s Optimus program being the clearest example). If you’re budgeting or planning around a 2030 price point, it’s reasonable to use $17,000–$20,000 as a directional estimate rather than a number you can rely on precisely.
What Should You Check Before Buying a Humanoid Robot?
- Actual purchase price versus subscription/RaaS cost — confirm which model you’re being quoted, since they aren’t directly comparable
- Confirmed availability — is this a product you can order now, or a pre-order against a future delivery date
- Warranty and support terms
- Software subscription requirements for fleet management or cloud AI features
- Maintenance and replacement part costs, and whether they’re included in a RaaS contract
- Battery life and real runtime, not just a marketing-spec number
- Payload capacity relative to your actual task
- Walking ability and manipulation capability, tested against your specific use case rather than a demo video
- Programming and API access, if you need custom integration
- Safety certifications, especially critical for any home or human-adjacent deployment
- Training requirements for staff who’ll operate or supervise it
- Whether it’s designed for your intended environment — a research-lab robot and a warehouse-floor robot are not interchangeable
The single most important thing to verify: demo capability is not the same as commercially useful capability. A robot that folds laundry once in a controlled demo is a different product than one that reliably does it in your specific environment, every day, without supervision.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a humanoid robot cost in 2026? Anywhere from about $6,000 for entry-level education robots to $250,000+ for fully integrated industrial platforms with service contracts. Most widely discussed consumer- and research-oriented robots fall in the $16,000–$30,000 range, though what that price includes varies enormously between vendors.
What is the cheapest humanoid robot? Education-focused platforms like Booster Robotics’ K1 start around $6,000. The cheapest full-size, general-purpose humanoid you can currently order is Unitree’s G1, starting around $16,000.
How much does Tesla Optimus cost? Tesla’s stated target is $20,000–$30,000, but this is an announced goal, not a confirmed retail price — outside customers aren’t expected to be able to purchase Optimus until 2027, and Tesla has missed prior Optimus timelines before.
Can you buy a humanoid robot today? Yes, for some models. Unitree’s G1 and H1 lines ship now. 1X’s NEO is taking pre-orders for late-2026 home delivery. Tesla Optimus, Figure 03, Apptronik Apollo, and Boston Dynamics Atlas are not currently available for general purchase — they’re in internal use, industrial pilots, or limited commercial trials.
Are humanoid robots affordable for home use? One product, 1X’s NEO, has a confirmed consumer price ($20,000 or $499/month). It’s real pricing for a real pre-order, but the robot still relies on remote human supervision for tasks it can’t handle autonomously, so “affordable” doesn’t yet mean “fully capable and unsupervised.”
Why are humanoid robots so expensive? Custom actuators, dexterous hands, sensor suites, onboard computing, and the AI training behind them all add cost, and most companies are still manufacturing at low volumes that don’t benefit from economies of scale. Chinese manufacturers currently have a meaningful cost advantage from tighter, cheaper supply chains.
Will humanoid robots become cheaper? The trend so far points that way — reported manufacturing costs dropped roughly 40% between 2023 and 2024, with one industry projection putting unit costs below $17,000 by 2030. That’s a forecast based on current trends, not a guaranteed price.
Is a humanoid robot worth buying for a business? It depends on utilization, not purchase price alone. The right comparison is cost per hour of useful, reliable work against the fully loaded cost of the human labor it would replace or augment — including benefits, training, and supervision — not a simple robot-price-versus-annual-salary comparison.
Sources
- AI Business — Unitree vs Tesla Optimus vs Figure: What a Humanoid Robot Actually Costs in 2026
- iFactory — Manufacturing Robot Vendor Comparison 2026
- LumiChats — Humanoid Robots 2026: Tesla Optimus vs Figure AI vs Unitree
- Optimusk — Tesla Optimus vs Boston Dynamics & All Rivals (2026)
- Robotics Center (SVRC) — Humanoid Robot Comparison 2026
- Komo.ai — Agility Robotics company profile
- Liveinthefuture.org — Agility Robotics Going Public at $2.5 Billion
- DeFiLlama — Apptronik funding data


